Dallas

Paris

My Photo
Name:
Location: North Dallas Suburbs, Texas, United States

Self-appointed education guru.

Locations of visitors to this page

Get Firefox!

Powered by Blogger

Add to Google

Subscribe in Bloglines

Thur's Templates

Sunday, October 29, 2006

Sunday Funnies

But You Just Said You Were Pregnant on the F Train Two Minutes Ago

Woman #1: Excuse me...You know, you really shouldn't smoke when you're pregnant.
Woman #2: I'm not pregnant.
Woman #1: Oh well uh, carry on then.

--Park & 32nd St

Overheard by: SUSAN


via Overheard in New York, Oct 22, 2006

Cause If I Don't Make Quota This Month, the Yakuza Will Have My Thumbs

Overeager sales associate: Welcome to American Eagle! Can I help you find anything?
Guy: No thanks, just looking.
Overeager sales associate: Hey, you know what would really look good on you?
Guy: What?
Overeager sales associate: Jeans!
Guy: Uh... I guess I like jeans.
Overeager sales associate: That's music to my ears!

--American Eagle, Union Square

Overheard by: doubeldee


via Overheard in New York, Oct 23, 2006

First They Came for the Trans-Fats and I Didn't Speak up

Writer: 'Portly' sounds cute. Sounds like a nice, bald, fat man in a three-piece suit.
Designer: 'Portly' sounds like someone with grease stains on their shirt from dropping a piece of chicken.
Writer: That's not 'portly!' That's obese!
Designer: What's the difference?
Writer: Obese is like those Subway ads before Jared lost his weight. When he was all wild-eyed and savage. Clothes all stretched out, nothing laundered, brimming with Big Macs and Crisco sandwhiches.
Designer: They should outlaw Crisco. Just straight out make it a crime.
Writer: Yeah.

16340 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, Arizona


via Overheard in the Office, Oct 23, 2006

Or Whatever It's Called When you Drink too Much and Fall Asleep

Coworker: I swear, I keep falling asleep at my desk...I think I have epilepsy.

7945 Haven Ave
Rancho Cucamonga, California


via Overheard in the Office, Oct 23, 2006

Labels:

Comments on "Sunday Funnies"

 

post a comment

Why I'm Smiling


I find it strange that I don't have much to blog about lately. The first term at school (we do 12-week terms) is uneventfully winding down. My French III students are about to being reading their first novel, my French I students are showing that they have actually learned something by allowing me to speak in French and following directions in French, and French Club and French National Honor Society are running smoothly. It's pretty interesting being a teacher in your 3rd year. In your first year, you couldn't find your head if someone put your hand on it. In your second year, you end up over-compensating for the mistakes you had your first year. Things don't quite work or get into a groove until year number 3. I think I have to attribute my "stresslessness" to the fact that I have a room, thus am more able to be organized. I finally have a home after two years of pushing a cart around. In addition, I am beginning to acquire wha teachers call a "bag of tricks". This little bag is what you pull out when a lesson is going over like a lead ballon, or you didn't quite plan a full lesson for the day. Though Freshman can be annoying, I have come to realize that it's not their fault. They're 14/15 years old. So all in all, it's been a successful 10 weeks. When we change classes in a couple of weeks, I hope I can still feel this content...

Comments on "Why I'm Smiling"

 

post a comment

Sunday, October 22, 2006

Sunday Funnies



I love New York...


It's her Love of hot Chocolate, if You Follow me

Guy: Yeah, we call my brother's girlfriend Swiss Miss.
Girl: Is that because she's Brazilian?

--Purity Diner, 7th Ave, Park Slope

Overheard by: Cleo


via Overheard in New York, Oct 19, 2006

Mom Used up her Niceties on the First few Kids

Small child in stroller: Mommy, why did you wake me up? Don't wake me up when I'm sleeping!
Mom: Fine. I'll leave you on the train and you can miss your stop and then the rats will get you.

--Brooklyn bound Q train

Overheard by: djingo


via Overheard in New York, Oct 21, 2006

It's the Fifty-First!

Clerk: Ma'am I can't take this money.
Lady: Why not? It's good American money.
Clerk: Ma'am this money is from Canada.
Lady: Is Canada not the 50th state of the U.S. or are you stupid or something?
Clerk: I'm not the one that's stupid.

13697 W. Colonial Drive
Winter Garden, Florida


via Overheard in the Office, Oct 17, 2006

Warning: This freshman class may contain extreme stupidity.

Columbia freshman #1: One time, in high school, I found a bag of peanuts that said 'May contain peanuts.'
Columbia freshman #2: Why, are you allergic?

--Duane Reade, 111th and Broadway

Overheard by: Fudd


via Overheard in New York, Oct 17, 2006

Labels:

Comments on "Sunday Funnies"

 

post a comment

Thursday, October 19, 2006

Overheard by Mr. French


Student: I hate when I have SARS.

Labels: ,

Comments on "Overheard by Mr. French"

 

post a comment

Monday, October 16, 2006

A Prendre ou A Laisser (Deal or No Deal)

I am sure that many of you have seen this show on television. I started watching this show back in 2004 when it aired in France. The principles are the same, with only varying small details. For example, in the French version, you could win 1 cent or a sock all the way up to 1 million euro. Also, they keep the same contestants around for just about the entire season, so they get to know each other. The contestants live and eat together (drunken nights were frequently shown). It makes it much more personal when someone chooses and loses the 1 million dollar boite (box). There were many a tear shed when contestants left. America's version is much more Hollywood. Instead of 24 regular people, our silver briefcases are held by 30 beautiful models :-) In any case, the clip below shows a woman trying to make the decision of a lifetime. Even though it's in French, I am sure you non-Francophones can get the idea. French TV is so utterly over-dramatic!

Labels:

Comments on "A Prendre ou A Laisser (Deal or No Deal)"

 

post a comment

France and the Turks


Since my blog is supposed to be about Francophone culture in addition to my daily trials as a classroom teacher, I should probably discuss what's going on in France right now. France and Turkey have not got along for ages. Turkey wants to enter the European Union, France does not want Turkey in the EU. This presents a problem for Turkey, because France is one of the Founding members of the EEC (European Economic Community). Last year France voted against the EU Constitution, which in so many words, would have allowed nations such as Turkey to eventually gain admission into the EU. France must pass the Constitution for it to become a legal document.

Thursday, in a bid to further upset Turks, France's lower Parliament (pictured above) passed a law making it illegal to deny that Armenians suffered genocide in 1915 at the hands of the Ottoman Turks. Turkish officials reject the word genocide. This same type of law was put in place in 1990 for anyone denying the existence of concentration camps during the 2nd World War. There have actually been instances of people fined and imprisoned for the denial. France's motto since the French Revolution has been Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité.(Liberty, Equality, Brotherhood). So much for the rights of all men.

Labels:

Comments on "France and the Turks"

 

post a comment

Sunday, October 15, 2006

Sunday Funnies

Brought to you by:

and



Or More Accurately, Wanted You to Fit in Me

Teen girl: Hi. Yes, hi. Excuse me. I know you don't know me but, what background are you from?
Teen boy: Ummm, why do you ask?
Teen girl: You look like an interesting mix and I really really want to know.
Teen boy: Ummm. Actually, I don't know.
Teen girl: You don't know? How come?
Teen boy: I was adopted.
Teen girl: Really? Wow! I don't know my real parents either! Ok, ok. That's not true. I just wanted to fit in.

--F train


via Overheard in New York, Oct 13, 2006


Generations of Immigrants Happily Agree

Stoner: La la la babyyy hey hey! I lovee it today! All we wanna do is smoke weeed and get drunk and be CRAZZZYYYY! La la la!
Tourist teen to friend: See, this is why we should move to New York--we'd look like normal people here.

--Central Park


via Overheard in New York, Oct 13, 2006


God: Who Are You Kidding? I Get This Stuff at Costco

Girl: It's so nice out today. I love natural wind.

--Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

Overheard by: Lindsay


via Overheard at the Beach, Oct 7, 2006

God: Who Are You Kidding? I Get This Stuff at Costco

Girl: It's so nice out today. I love natural wind.

--Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

Overheard by: Lindsay


via Overheard at the Beach, Oct 7, 2006

Comments on "Sunday Funnies"

 

post a comment

Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Apologies and Self Congratulations


So every time I seem that I am ready to jump on the daily blogging bandwagon, something seems to always get in the way. It could be work, friends, eating or just plain boredom. I am having a great school year, and this, in part, is leading to my lack of blogging posts. So my apologies to my reader :-)

In other news: Last Friday during the morning announcements, our Principal took a second to do his regulatory do's and dont's...I listen just so I know what rules to enforce and be aware of (we are a hella rule-heavy school). After rules, he usually goes into congratulating our cheerleaders, drill team, footballs team, etc. Then, I hear this:
We would like to congratulate out teacher of the month: Mr. French!

My class actually clapped for me! I had students giving me hi-fives and hugs in the hallway. This is what it must feel like to be a celebrity or something. Although I stand in front of a class of 30 students everyday, when I am off of that specific stage and out of my comfort zone, I am a rather shy person. It was a bit much to take, but very much appreciated. It's, like, my month and stuff! Wooohoooo!

Comments on "Apologies and Self Congratulations"

 

Blogger ms. whatsit said ... (10/13/06, 9:29 AM) : 

Felicitacions!

Are there any other perks to this honor? Special parking spot? Gift certificates? Rub down?

 

post a comment

Sunday, October 08, 2006

TX/OU (well at least half of them)




Wonderful, beautiful, blissful, scene at the end of the annual Texas/OU football game at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas (Texas wins 28-10). The sooners have left, which is why the stadium is only half-full. This is the biggest game in a University of Texas fan's season. The sooners had our number the last few years before our win last year. The fans and the players get nasty. The stadium is split 50/50 on the the 50 yard line, so there are a few hundred unfortunate souls that have to endure the smells of sooners. This second picture shows what the stadium looks during the game. It's actually a pretty cool effect:


Labels:

Comments on "TX/OU (well at least half of them)"

 

post a comment