You Get a C+ For Effort
| It seems as though my concept of success has changed since I first started teaching last year. I remember one time last year when my French I classes averaged abot 72 or 73 on a test. I was really hurt. I felt that it was something that I was doing wrong to cause these low scores. I had them write anonymous notes to me, telling me what I or we as a class could do better to ensure our success. To elicit true responses, I told them that no one would see them, and that they were not to write their name (I know their handwriting). One girl said that she wasn't passing because I moved her away from her friend, so now she is unmotivated. There were some good suggestions about playing review games, or going a little bit slower, so I used them in the future. Most confessed that it was their fault because they don't study. Flash forward to this school year. I find nothing wrong with scores in the 70's...I now realize that it's a good average (not great however). So I smiled a little as I put their most recent tests in the gradebook. It's so wrong, but I love hearing: "Hey, at least I passed!". |














Comments on "You Get a C+ For Effort"
post a comment